Hobo Days

My ultimate goal is to publish a book about my father Emil Sitka’s experiences of working with the Three Stooges, a project he himself worked on for the last ten years of his life. He never really formed a plan and just made notes and wrote out some stories. I’ve inherited all his materials including not only his notes and stories but also his diaries, mementos, scrapbooks, photo albums and many recorded interviews.

But I don’t have any experience with publishing either.

So as a sort of practice project, I’m going to try to publish a smaller, easier book about my father’s early life before he came to Hollywood. It will be focused on a manuscript he wrote in 1936 about his experiences as a teenaged hobo riding the rails across America during the Great Depression in 1933. It will include photos and mementos he collected along the way and will be a authentic record of that era in our country’s history. It may not appeal to Stooge fans but publishing it should give me the knowledge to make the subsequent book about the Three Stooges a better product. At least, that’s the plan.

Here’s a picture of my father hopping a train in 1933.

P20LoMidRt_ES_hoppingtrain

2 thoughts on “Hobo Days

  1. Hello Saxon; I met you in April at the Philly Stooge convention; I found out we share September birthdays.

    I would be interested in reading your dad’s history – a real “Grapes of Wrath” tale. And you are now a link on my blogroll. Looking forward to your postings!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello Anne Marie, The Stooge Convention was really fun! It was great to meet so many fans. And although it was nerve wracking to get up in front of the audience, I really enjoyed doing those presentations about my Dad.

      This “hobo days” project is fun too, although it’s a lot of work. It’s a big digression from my Fourth Stooge theme, but I’m confident it will prove worthwhile in the long run. Thanks for visiting and commenting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

